How Does the Law Work in Antarctica?
Print this article
Font Size
What Countries Have Territorial Claims in Antarctica?
View ArticleView Article Comments
The following 7 countries have placed territorial claims of ownership on portions of Antarctica (with dates of claims in parentheses):

Great Britain (1908)
New Zealand (1923)
France (1924)
Norway (1929)
Australia (1933)
Chile (1940)
Argentina (1943)

Some of these countries claims of ownership overlap one another. For example, Argentina, the UK, and Chile have claims that overlap, which has caused some friction between them. Even with all these territorial claims, about 15% of the continent is unclaimed. However, the United States, Russia, and many other countries do not recognize any territorial claims of ownership in Antarctica.

Next, let’s explore how the law operates in Antarctica.